Restaurant Review: Tofu Village

I have this uncontrollable habit of taking and preserving food photos whenever and wherever, so I thought of compiling said shots over here and writing an opinion or two about some of my eat-out and go-to spots just so I don’t end up fawning over them as a routine. I’m no food expert, so please bear with my overly simple (read: lack of descriptiveness) statements.

Okay, so I was passing through Korea Town the other day just because I was craving some Red Bean Taiyaki from Kevin’s Taiyaki (review to follow), and I thought I could at least get some lunch. I rummaged the internet for a quick peek at reviews and decided to try Tofu Village at 681 Bloor St. My folks weren’t particularly fans of korean food, but they weren’t opposed to the idea of tasting new cuisines either, so off we went.

I wasn’t able to take a photo of the place, but it was fairly larger and more spacious than how it looks from the outside. I appreciated the organization of the menu. I just hate it when there are a ton of photo-less dishes all over the page without any sort of hint as to what would be crucial to taste. The prices were average ($7-$10 for appetizers, $8.45 for tofu soup, nothing above $15 if I remember correctly). You can view part of the menu here.

I asked our server for their bestsellers, and she recommended their tofu soup which comes in all levels of spicy. I ordered the following: House Special Soon Tofu, Kim Chi Pancake, Pork Bone Soup, and a rice bowl of Chicken Teriyaki.

Of course, being a korean place, we were first presented with a variety of side dishes. My folks’ reaction? dumbfounded (in a very good way, I assure you).

DSC_0304
Side Dishes (Kim Chi in focus)

From the side dishes, my favorites included the firm tofu, the bean sprouts, and of course, the Kim Chi.
Serving time wasn’t very long, probably 15 minutes or so.

After tasting most of the side dishes, we were finally able to enjoy their specialty – the House Special Soon Tofu.

DSC_0308

This is probably one of the best tofu soups I have ever tasted. I ordered mild spicy, and my folks initially reacted rather negatively about how spicy the soup was (In my opinion, it wasn’t really), but later on were the ones who ended up getting more and more servings of the soup. The tofu was delightfully soft, the broth was a little spicy with a texture that feels similar to a tomato-based soup (I’m not sure I’m getting this right hmm). Oh, btw, this soup is served with purple rice (which my mother loved), so if you’re a fan of rice, look forward to that.

I remember taking a lousy shot of the Kim Chi pancake because I couldn’t bear to take a shot while standing up (yeah, yeah, I need to swallow my bashfulness). I deleted said shot after some minutes, so pardon the verbal report. The Kim Chi pancake was one of the dishes I could not stop eating.However, I thought it tasted more floury than it should be. It was good nonetheless. It was too big (for a person like me) to eat in one sitting, so I had to take it home.

The Chicken Teriyaki was also delightful, not the best I’ve tasted, but it suited my tastes just fine. Texture was well, a combination of firm and chewy. There was one thing I remembered most about this dish – It had so much rice underneath. If you are a person who loves rice, the rice meals at Tofu village would not disappoint.

DSC_0309
Chicken Teriyaki
DSC_0317
Chicken Teriyaki in focus

And of course, last but not the least, we have the ever popular Pork Bone Soup.

DSC_0321
Pork Bone Soup
DSC_0319
Pork Bone Soup in focus

Normally, I would gush about how heavenly the Pork Bone Soup tastes, but there was just something different in the one Tofu Village served. Pardon the inefficiency of my taste buds, but I think it had something to do with aftertastes, especially after tasting the meat. It doesn’t compare to Ka Chi’s, but that’s an entirely different story. Nonetheless, it was a decent dish.

summary

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

OVERALL RATING: 3.5/5 (Good!)

TOFU VILLAGE INFORMATION
Address: 681 Bloor Street West, Toronto, Ontario M6G 1L2, Canada
Dining: Casual
Food: Korean
Contact: 647-345-3836

 

 

Leave a Reply

